You are here

Policy & Development

We work with some top organizations dedicated helping the Internet grow
© iStockPhoto / Internet Society

The Internet Society is honored to work with some of the top organizations dedicated helping the Internet grow and develop around the world.

Global Partnerships

The Internet Society has entered into partnerships that convey formal recognition and status, with the following organisations:

  • African Union (OAU) Status: The Internet Society and the African Union signed a Memorandum of Understanding in May 2008.
  • Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Status: The Internet Society participates as an invited guest in the APEC Telecommunications and Information Working Group (APEC TEL) and the APEC Electronic Commerce Steering Group (ECSG).
  • Council of Europe (CoE) Status: The Internet Society has an Observer Status in the Council of Europe Consultative Committee of the Convention for the Protection of Individuals with regard to Automatic Processing of Personal Data (T-PD), as well as the Steering Committee on Media and Information Society (CDMSI).
  • Human Rights Council  Status: The Internet Society has participated in the Human Rights Council following obtention of the UN ESCOSOC status in 2010. Its focus is principally on issues related to Internet and freedom of expression.
  • New Partnership for Africa's Development Planning and Coordination Agency (NPCA) Status: The Internet Society and the NPCA signed a Memorandum of Understanding in January 2011. The Internet Society and NPCA work together to develop ICT in Africa by creating an enabling environment for Internet development, promoting the development of local content and enhancing the capacity of African ICT specialists to deal with Internet-related technical and policy issues.
  • World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) Status: The Internet Society is a Permanent Observer to the World Intellectual Property Organization and Observer organization to the Steering Committee on Copyright and Related Rights (SCCR) and Standing Committee on the Law of Trademarks (SCT).