You are here

Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)

Internet Society Status 

We are working with APEC to develop robust forward-looking policies on Internet-related issues to foster trade, development and economic growth.

The Internet Society participates as an invited guest in the APEC Telecommunications and Information Working Group (APEC TEL) and the APEC Electronic Commerce Steering Group (ECSG). Within the ECSG, the Internet Society contributes to the work of the Data Privacy Sub-Group (DPS) and the Paperless Trading Sub-Group (PTS). In particular, we are supporting the DPS and the newly formed Joint Oversight Panel for the APEC CBPR System in the implementation of the system in the APEC region.

The Internet Society has also participated as an invited guest in the last three APEC Telecommunications and Information Ministerial Meetings, TELMIN 7, 8 and 9.

Additionally, the Internet Society gave a short seminar during the plenary session of the 33rd session of APEC Intellectual Property Rights Experts Group (IPEG), describing analysis undertaken by the Internet Society Copyright WG concerning emerging copyright enforcement policies.

About the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)

APEC is an intergovernmental forum for facilitating economic growth, cooperation, trade and investment in the Asia-Pacific region. It operates on the basis of non-binding commitments, open dialogue, and has 21 Member economies.

Telecommunications and Information Working Group (APEC TELWG)

The focus of the APEC Telecommunications and Information Working Group (APEC TELWG) is to develop policies to enhance ICT infrastructure in the Asia-Pacific region. The APEC TELWG works on a number of Internet-related policy issues including: universal access to broadband, Internet security, ICT in disaster management, and green ICT.

Electronic Commerce Steering Group (ECSG) and the APEC Cross Border Privacy Rules System

The Electronic Commerce Steering Group (ECSG) coordinates APEC activities concerning e-commerce and develops policies to faciliate trade within the Asia-Pacific region. Privacy is one the core topics covered by the ECSG. 

In 2010, the APEC Cross-Border Privacy Enforcement Arrangement (CPEA) was established to faciliate information sharing and collaboration across privacy enforcement entities within the Asia-Pacific region. There are presently more than 20 participants from 7 economies (Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea, the United States) in the CPEA.

In 2011, APEC leaders approved the APEC CBPR System, a voluntary accountability-based system designed to facilitate privacy-respecting tranborder data flows among participating APEC economies. The system applies the standards of the APEC Privacy Framework to cross-border data flows. In 2012, the US became the first APEC member economy to participate in the APEC CBPR system.

APEC CBPR documents - CBPR Policies, Rules and Guidelines - CBPR Intake Questionnaire - CBPR Program Requirements - Accountability Agent Application for CBPR recognition - Template Notice of Intent to Participate - Cross Border Privacy Enforcement Arrangement

Internet Society Contributions to APEC